Overcomng Fear–Keep Fear From Stealing Your Life

Overcomng Fear–Keep Fear From Stealing Your Life

photo (1)For over eighteen years of our twenty-year marriage my husband worked out of town Mondays through Thursdays. I had never been afraid of being by myself or afraid of something going terribly wrong. Then one day I walked past my dresser mirror, where I had a card of Psalm 91 posted, and certain words stood out to me, “the terror of night” and “pestilence that stalks in the darkness,” and “plague that destroys at midday.” I stopped and said, “Is that You, Lord?” I had experienced Scripture standing out to me before, but this time a strange foreboding presence swept over me and I was frightfully afraid. I realized this “presence” was not my Lord’s presence. Immediately, I bound fear and commanded it to leave in Jesus’ name. The fear left, and I was at peace, although I was a bit shaken from the strange experience.

It was interesting to me that satan used the same Scripture I prayed for security to bring fear and cause panic and confusion. Of course, I should not have been surprised, because satan twisted this same Psalm on Jesus in the wilderness.  He continues with the same tactics, and we must not fall for them.

I have heard a number of people relate losing their healing in a similar experience. They each received a genuine healing; then a day or so later a thought came into their head that said, “You are not really healed.” Bam! Right then their healing was stolen, because they believed the wrong thought/voice and did not say, “No! I believe my Lord! Leave in Jesus’ name!” Fear is a lie filled with torment, and satan will use it to steal anything. Here is list of common fears people have:[1]

• Fear of what others think
• Fear of past mistakes or past pain
• Fear of the unknown
• Fear that God is not pleased with you
• Fear that what we do is never enough
• Fear of being lonely
• Fear of lack
• Fear that something bad will happen to us or people we love

The key to overcoming fear of all kinds is to face them straight on, tell them to leave, and replace them with God-thoughts. Sometimes in order to stop a harassing fear, we must take the fear to its logical conclusion. For example, if your worst fear came true, then what? Let your mind go down this road to see how God would take the most horrific circumstance, heal you, and turn it for good (Rom 8:28). This will take the “fear” out of the fear. You will capture the thing that torments you (2 Cor 10:5).

God loves us unconditionally, and we can trust Him to deliver us from all forms of fear (1 John 4:18). We can give our fears to Him, because He is a very present help in trouble (Psalm 46:1). God loves you, and you can overcome fear!

Have you had a similar experience? If this blog has helped in any way, please share with a friend, and thanks!

*As I was preparing this post, I saw this link. You all may want to grab this free ebook on overcoming fear. You can download simply by following their instructions. Free ebook on Overcoming Fear at the following linkhttp://www.freemorningstargift.com/?utm_source=ms-facebook&utm_medium=facebook&utm_content=free-gifts&utm_campaign=ms-facebook-free-gifts-june

Check out my Pinterest Board:

 

[1]List taken from Developing Power Thoughts Study Guide by Joyce Meyer

 

One thought on “Overcomng Fear–Keep Fear From Stealing Your Life

What are your thoughts? comments?

